The Supreme Court

State of Mashington

STEVEN C. GONZÁLEZ

CHIEF JUSTICE

TEMPLE OF JUSTICE

POST OFFICE BOX 40929

OLYMPIA, WASHINGTON 98504-0929



(360) 357-2030 E-MAIL J S.GONZALEZ@COURTS.WA.GOV

TO: Justice Barbara Madsen, Chair, JISC

Judge Alicia Burton, Member Chair, BJA Judge Samuel Chung, President, SCJA Judge Jeff Smith, President DMCJA

Judge Anne Cruser, Presiding Chief Judge, Court of

Judge Mary Logan, Chair BJA Budget and Funding Committee Judge Carolyn Jewett, Chair BJA Policy and Planning Committee

Judge Michael Scott, Chair BJA Legislative Committee

Judge Rebecca Pennell, Co-Chair BJA Court Education Committee

Margaret Yetter, Co-Chair BJA Court Education Committee

Judge Sean O'Donnell, Co-Chair BJA Court Security Funding Task Force Judge Suzanne Elsner, Co-Chair BJA Court Security Funding Task Force

TJ Bohl, President, WAJCA

Ashley Callan, President, AWSCA Hunter Abell, President, WSBA Melissa Beaton, President, WSACC Sara Robbins, Director, OCLA Larry Jefferson Jr., Director, OPD Reiko Callner, Executive Director, CJC Terry Price, Chair, Access to Justice Board

FROM: Steven González, Chief Justice

DATE: April 5, 2024

RE: 2025-27 Biennial Budget Development and Submittal

It's time to begin the development of our branch's 2025-27 biennial budget request. As we continue to advocate for adequate, long-term, and stable funding, I remain hopeful that the Legislature will continue to fund many of our critical programs and systems in the years to come.

This year's budget development and submittal process is similar to prior years, with a few exceptions. Two years ago, we asked for concept papers—those will not be collected this year. Instead, there is a cover sheet for the standard decision package template. This cover sheet is

designed to reinforce communication across the branch and across our judicial system by asking you to prioritize your requests and by ensuring that any requests include input from all affected parties.

A step-by-step calendar of the process is attached, but in summary:

- Decision packages and their associated cover sheets and supporting documentation are due to the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) by June 28, 2024.
- AOC will perform the initial review and make recommendations to the Budget and Funding Committee (BFC) of the Board for Judicial Administration (BJA) regarding requests for General Fund (GF) funding that flows through the AOC. The BFC will review and make recommendations to BJA, the BJA (and Judicial Information Systems Committee for information technology-related packages) will make recommendations to the Supreme Court Budget Committee (SCBC), and the SCBC will make recommendations to the Supreme Court.
- Final decisions on which decision packages move forward are made by the Supreme Court.

Once final decisions are made, the budget request will be finalized and transmitted to the Legislature. Each group in the authorizing environment will consider a number of factors when deciding which decision packages to move forward to the Legislature. These factors include priorities set by the BFC, recommendations made by the BJA, the current and future economic environment, constitutional and statutory requirements, and other factors.

Timelines are shorter than they appear, given all of our busy schedules. Adherence to the attached timeline is necessary to ensure that the process remains consistent and objective, ensuring that all requests forwarded to the Legislature are sound and well-vetted.

Again, all decision packages are due by June 28, 2024. Please submit them to Angie Wirkkala at Angie. Wirkkala@courts.wa.gov.

The budget development schedule, templates, and all associated guidance documents can be found at the following link:

https://www.courts.wa.gov/index.cfm?fa=controller.ShowPage&folder=Financial%20Services&file=2025_27BudgetInstructions

Thank you all for your continued dedication to justice and the residents of Washington. If you have questions, please feel free to contact me at (360) 357-2029 or call Christopher Stanley at (360) 357-2406.

cc: Justices of the Supreme Court
Executive Committee, Court of Appeals
Dawn Marie Rubio, State Court Administrator
Christopher Stanley, Chief Financial and Management Officer
Ashley Lipford, Supreme Court Administrator
Erin Lennon, Supreme Court Clerk
Michael Johnston, Supreme Court Commissioner
Sam Thompson, Reporter of Decisions
Rob Mead, State Law Librarian